Kit Kat Chunky Royal Milk Tea – ロイヤルミルクティー

ImageAlong with Tirol chocolates, Kit Kat is another thing I like to look out for, because the flavours change quite regularly, and new Kit Kat chunky varieties are rare. Lately I found some new Kit Kat minis too so it was a good time for hunting~

Image

As you can see the chocolate coating is generously thick and appealingly shiny. The pale colour confused me a little, as you would expect a milk tea-based sweet to be a darker, milky-brown colour, which could easily have been achieved. However the scent is unmistakeably milk tea and it smells delicious. The taste too hits you in the same way as when you drink: first you get the creamy sweetness from the milk and sugar followed by the slightly herbal aftertaste of tea.

I tend to eat like a rabbit and gnaw away the outside of my chocolates and when I tasted the wafer center on its own it was strangely bitter. Not unpleasant but curious. Perhaps it’s there to balance the sweet tea and make the flavours more complex. In spite of the mystery center I loved it and hope that Royal Milk Tea is here to stay.

Leave a comment